Skip to content

Chive Harvest

31 May 2012

Today, I harvested the chives that grew back from last year’s garden.  I left about a fourth of the stalks whole, and left a few inches on the stalks I did cut.  Hopefully this will allow the chives to grow back, but the summer heat may kill it anyway.

I noticed the stalks that had flowers on them were far tougher and more rigid than the others, and they taste slightly different, but still good.  I’m keeping them separate from the others for this reason.  I set aside some chives to use now, and put the rest in my dehydrator.

I made two soups specifically for their use of chives.  The first is a soup I’ve never had before, and I mostly followed Sugarlaws’s recipe.  I omitted the black pepper and added white pepper and turmeric.  It wasn’t as pretty as hers, but it tasted quite good.  My parents also enjoyed it, and the three of us have very different preferences for flavor, so that is a rare occasion.

Next, I made a soup which I’m sure has a name, but I can’t recall it.  Yim at Bangkok Cafe in Greensboro makes a peppery, clear, light soup that she serves with all her lunch specials.  This is my vegetarian reimagining of it, but it’s not particularly faithful to the original.  I enjoyed it, though.  I also included a few leaves of the recently planted Vietnamese Coriander, which has grown quite a bit in only a week.  Here’s the recipe I concocted for it.

  • 1 can of straw mushrooms
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 3 fresh tomatoes
  • 20 or so chive stalks
  • 1/2 cup jasmine rice
  • 1 handful Vietnamese coriander
  • sea salt to taste
  • 1 tablespoon hot oil
  • 1 tablespoon shredded galangal

Boil the celery stalks and salt for 10 minutes in 2 cups of water.  Boil the rice separately in 1 cup of water until done.   Combine the two, then add the rest of the ingredients and boil for 15 minutes.  Makes a great snack or appetizer.

More images of the chive harvest and other things I cooked in today’s gallery.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. both of those soups look amazing! the chives look sooo good! nice job!

  2. c4faith permalink

    The corn and chives soup looks pretty tasty (minus the shrimp that’s listed in the linked recipe). Did you use shrimp?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

