Skip to content

Winter gardening!

19 December 2012

Things have been quiet around my garden for the winter.  Almost everything has died except the pycnanthemum, chives, and thyme.  The savory died, which I wasn’t expecting.  I’ve been focusing on other aspects of life lately that don’t really fit the scope of this blog, but I did decide during Thanksgiving to plant some garlic and cilantro.  It’s started to come up!

 

The cilantro is unusually mild, though.  I’m not sure why.  It’s doing well, however.  The garlic is growing slower than what I’ve read about it.  This is the first time I’ve ever grown garlic, so I don’t know what to expect.  I understand this isn’t quite an optimal climate for it, so I’m following guidelines on NC State’s web site.  I may start using this site as a reference more in the future.

I transplanted a lot of the pycnanthemum around the perimeter of the garden, among the irises my mother planted.  I started with a single pycnanthemum plant 3 years ago, and it has slowly spread across the northwest corner of the garden and become very well established.  I transplanted some last spring into the shade bed, but it didn’t seem to make much of a difference for this hardy plant, except that it spreads more rapidly there and is starting to choke out the thyme, so I plan to remove it entirely from that bed.  I’ve read a bit about its pest repelling properties, and I noticed last summer that it attracts an unusual species of wasp that lingers in the garden and visits many flowers.  It doesn’t really need to be in my garden itself since none of the pests around here will touch it.  I hope it becomes well established.

No gallery today!  That’s my only picture.  I have reached the limits of my free Imgur.com account and I’m looking for a new image hosting service.  Any recommendations?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

