Skip to content

Haphazard Spring Gardening

1 May 2013

This spring, I decided to try several things I’d never tried before, including a bed of spring greens, and I deliberately tried not to be as meticulous and obsessive in planning it.  First, though, let’s check in on what survived the winter.

Also, I’m going to try this new-fangled “Read More” tag as a regular thing in my blog posts now.  By the way, I still need a new free image host, so if you know one, please post it in the comments.  I’m just using WordPress’s rather limited upload space that comes with a free account for now.

Click on the images to enlarge them.

DSC00646s

The pycnanthemum has been trying to take over the whole shade bed, and it’s succeeding. I’m trying to get it established elsewhere in the yard, and once I do, I’ll remove it entirely from the shade bed. The thyme in the lower left died back some over the winter, but as soon as it got warm, it grew back ferociously. I took this picture a week ago, and today it’s already bigger than it ever got last year. Thyme likes being in an established shady spot, apparently. There’s a single cilantro plant in the lower right. Speaking of cilantro…

DSC00647s

This is the garlic and cilantro I planted during the winter. I’m not really sure if the garlic will survive to maturity, but the cilantro is doing great and has already started to bolt since I took this picture. The leaves never were particularly tasty, but I don’t really mind since what I really want are the seeds. It would be nice to get some good cilantro leaves for some pico de gallo, though.

DSC00648s

This is a wide assortment of greens and spring vegetables. I got a bunch of free seed from Firefly Gathering, then later from a friend I met at that gathering, and then I did a seed share with two local friends. In this bed, I planted spinach, two kinds of broccoli, kohlrabi, turnips, carrots, mustard, about half a dozen different kinds of lettuce, purslane, peas, bush beans, beets, chervil, lupine, lavender, bok choy, sage, nasturtium, and a couple assortment packs. Peas are on the north side, beans on the south side, mystery package on the west side, everything else scattered all over. I directly sowed the seeds rather densely, and I did the standard double dig almost exactly as I explained it last year. However, this time, I was aided by the broadfork, which I will cover in another post. Also is a mystery pack labeled “Vegetable seed” in English, and most of the rest of the label is in Farsi. I’m looking forward to determining what it is! I’ve already pulled up about a dozen radishes, pictured below, since taking the picture above.

DSC00652s

And to end this post, buttercups.

DSC00650s

Buttercups everywhere.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

