Skip to content

Spring progress

26 May 2013

Spring is definitely in full swing here in central NC. Blooms are everywhere.

This is the cilantro that has grown from seed I sowed last winter.  It bolted very quickly, too fast for me to get any leaves, but if I get thousands of fresh seeds, I will be quite content.  This must be a long-lived variety of cilantro, because I’ve read that most varieties have a lifespan of no more than 2 or 3 months from germination to death.  I’ve grown this variety for 3 years now and it has always lasted at least 6 months.

The spring greens bed has bolted.  I didn’t get a whole lot of greens out of it, but we had freezing weather unusually late, so I planted everything late.  There are still some things I could pick from it, but at this point I’m just hoping to get some mustard seeds.

This scraggly peach tree is from the east coast near Wilmington, where peaches can grow and produce well. Ever since my parents transplanted it, it only produces rock hard bitter peaches that don’t get any bigger than this. I’m keeping my eye on it this year, however, because as part of my tree project, I’m going to attempt to germinate some pits. It’s in shade most of the day, but maybe if I plant some saplings in full sun, they’ll produce good peaches.

Every year we get volunteers in the compost pile.  This year it’s a tomato and some kind of squash or gourd.  I won’t know until they produce fruit, if they produce at all.  They still haven’t flowered, and it seems like they should be by now.

Speaking of volunteers, this is growing in a little terra cotta pot on the patio.  It grew in the same place last year, but with only one central leader.  This year, it has almost a dozen leaders and is thick and lush.  I’ve debated with my parents and neighbor over the identification of it, but none of us can agree on what it is.  I think it’s wild dill.  I’ve encountered this same plant growing wild in wooded areas, usually in small low-lying clearings.  It tastes like dill to me, though a bit milder than domesticated dill.  If you know what this plant is, please comment.

The thyme, once again, declares that I picked the best possible spot in this yard for it.  It died back some over the winter, though always retained some small green leaves, and grew back even faster this year than it did last year.  The bald spot in the center is where the pycnanthemum next to it had spread.  I will be removing the pycnanthemum from this shade bed entirely very soon.  I still have that large patch in the garden.

Believe it or not, this is one of the pawpaw trees I planted just last month.  It hasn’t gotten much taller, but the leaves are already humungous!  It seems to love this unusually rainy spring.  I’m quite pleased and I’m really looking forward to seeing this plant grow.

By the way, that deer net I built around the serviceberry has worked perfectly.  Not a single new nibble has appeared on it.  It isn’t growing much, but perhaps it grows more a certain time of year.  It remains quite healthy and lush, and the berries are starting to ripen.  I didn’t include a picture of it because it looks almost identical to the last picture I took.

I’ve decided to try out a new image hosting service, Flickr.  Let me know what you think of it in the comments.  You can click on each picture in this post to see the full size version, or you can view the whole set.  I liked my previous format when I used Imgur of posting a few pictures and writing about them, then having several more in that day’s gallery.  Do you like this format, too?  If so, I can continue reproducing it with Flickr.

This year is shaping up to be very interesting for my sustainable living endeavors.  I hope to have some exciting blog posts this summer.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. snowmentality permalink

    I don’t know, but I’ve got a bunch of those dill-like weeds in my garden. (Well, had — I pulled them.) Mine don’t taste like much of anything. From doing some googling, I think the plant’s name might be “dog fennel.”

    • Yeah, the images I get when searching for “dog fennel” look a lot like this plant. The ones growing around here definitely taste sort of like dill, though. They’re starting to die now.

Leave a Reply

